Looking For Additional Writers


So far this has been my own private corner of the internet, but I’m all for sharing!  I’m looking to add a few more voices to this site, with no particular limit in mind.  If you’re one of those masochistic people who enjoy writing for fun just contact me on any of the sites that I frequent and we’ll see if we can figure something out.

This blog started out as a simple outlet for venting my gaming frustrations, which no one read.  Since then I’ve started broadening my horizons to discussing industry news and writing various reviews, and the blog now pulls in 10-20 readers daily with as many as 60-100 on days where something new gets posted.  I would like any writers to focus primarily on games and movies, but you can make the occasional tangent post about virtually anything as long as we maintain a clear focus on gaming overall.  You’ll have a great deal of freedom as long you’re not trying to turn this place into a fashion or motorsports blog.  The vast majority of submissions should be topic oriented rather than weekly updates on your life.

Are you the writer and/or artist of a webcomic, or have you been looking to start one?  I’m certainly willing to mirror or host it if the topic fits.

Just to make sure we’re all on the same page, new posters will probably have a small restriction where I need to read through a submission before it is posted.  It’s mostly just to make sure that it’s the sort of thing that I’m looking to have here.  You don’t need to be any sort of scholar, but I’ll also be checking to make sure that you have a decent understanding of grammar in order to avoid frustrating readers.

This is all meant to be in good fun, and you could post just about as frequently or infrequently as you want.  Just don’t expect anyone to make any money out of this.  If I already know you then you’re a whole lot more likely to be added.  If you’re a reader that I’ve never met that is interested in becoming an author you could always submit a trial article and we’ll see where we go from there.  After all, who doesn’t like meeting new friends?

Oh, and you’ll need to make a WordPress account.  Do I have any idea what I’m doing? Of course not.  Bye!

Contact:

Twitter, Youtube, Xbox Live, TrueAchievements – SebastianSB

Steam – SebastianSB2

Email – Shaman11King@hotmail.com

Update:

After a fairly lengthy discussion with some of the new writers (we have six total already) over Steam we’ve decided that the blog will cover general geek culture topics.  It made sense to expand a bit once I realized how many people we were getting.  Video games, movies, music, table top games, card games, comics, manga, television, etc.

In the case of shows and comics, an article must either be a review of the entire series or cover an individual season or story arc.  I say this because I don’t want someone posting about how awesome each chapter of One Piece is every time one comes out.

I’ll likely still be on the look for additional writers if people are interested, but at the moment it’s probably a good idea to slow down and get everything sorted out among the people who have already been added.  This is going to be an interesting experience.

Leave a Reply

