dead dogs and the dirty ground


About a year ago or so my family adopted a one-eyed Labrador Retriever puppy.  His original name was Murdok and my father and I loved it, but my brother named him Toby.  He was my brother’s dog, after all.  We sort of silently debated the name all the way into the present.  He was always was energetic and (understandably) clumsy.  He would bark, but he never seemed to whine despite the fact that it’s the favorite hobby of our Yellow Labrador, Angel.  It was always funny playing fetch with the dogs because Toby had almost no interest in it.  He didn’t really want the ball, he just wanted to chase Angel as she ran after the ball.

On Monday morning Dad saw Toby standing completely still, which is a strange enough occurrence for that dog.  By the time I had showered and dressed he was laying down in a corner.  No amount of coaxing could get him to sit up or stand, so I wrapped him up in a blanket and carried him to the car.  I spent about 45 minutes in the vet’s waiting room holding him in my lap as a half dozen others got their pets routine shots and other less important treatments.  Ironically enough this is probably the most time I ever spent with Toby.  He was almost completely immobile throughout this time, but when at one point I left his side to deal with paperwork I was surprised to see him stand up and slowly make his way over to me.  Toby stayed there overnight while undergoing treatments and didn’t make it into the morning.  When my brother and I got in the car to head to the shop that morning my iPod immediately spouted out these lyrics:

Listen, late last night, heard the screen door slam
And a big yellow taxi took my girl away
Don’t it always seem to go
That you don’t know what you got till it’s gone

Fuck you Counting Crows.

The death of a pet is a really strange thing.  You feel bad, but what do you do?  The world doesn’t stop for dead dogs.  There’s no doggy funeral or cemetery, no proper process through which one reacts to the change.  It’s just that one day you have an adorable, lovable puppy and the next day you don’t.  I guess I should just be glad that he had a chance to have a home rather than stay at the shelter.  How many others would have adopted a one-eyed dog?

– – – – –

I got started with Bioshock 2…and that’s about it.  When I played the demo for Bioshock back in 2007(?) I was instantly hooked.  The intro to that game was so incredible I ended up playing the demo five or six times before I even got my hands on the game.  After I played the beginning of Bioshock 2 rather than eagerly continuing I found that I just wanted to go play Rock Band or watch Bleach.  Overall it just feels like I’ve seen/done it all before.  The once beautiful visuals now seem to vary from getting the job done to kind of overly simplistic and ugly, especially when you run into “normal” human characters.  I normally love games with a bit of a cartoony look but it just doesn’t really fit in a game that’s supposed to be scary.

Yeah, I started watching Bleach again from the very beginning.  It’s been a while since I’ve watched an Anime so it’s a bit tough getting used to awkward dubbing.  I don’t want to read subtitles for hours, though.  I’m up to the oh-shit-that’s-not-a-cat part.

I got my 100% in Red Dead Redemption (the Rockstar %, not gamerscore) and I have a review on the way, or whatever you want to call those things I write about games.  I’m about half way through, but haven’t touched it since the 3rd.

I spent a few minutes with Darksiders.  It looks fairly solid, though I get a feeling so far that the story will be pretty forgettable.  We’ll see in the coming week or so.

Green Day Rock Band came out yesterday.  I got together with some friends to see if we could make it through the whole game in one day.  I vastly overestimated their ability to play through even the easiest of tracks.  I ended up singing through most of the game last night, but when I was about to start 21CBD I realized it was 9pm and called it a night for the sake of the others in the house.

Leave a Reply

