Lady Gaga Coming to Rock Band?


There’s an elephant in the room.

Lady Ga Ga as Rock Band DLC? What an unexpected…surprise?  I’m rather torn on this whole ordeal to be honest.  I don’t like Lady Ga Ga’s music and I’m sick of hearing it everywhere, but at the same time I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that part of me is glad to see yet another big name being added to the Rock Band Platform.  In an odd sort of way it helps reaffirm my choice of Rock Band over Guitar Hero, much like how Rock Band Network supported my choice of Xbox 360 over Playstation 3.

I’m even more surprised by the amount of positive feedback I’ve seen about the DLC.  Various commenters, posters, and even RockBandAide seem to be excited about the news.  I have of course rightfully seen super-pop music as a pop culture phenomenon, but I’ve always thought that the gaming community was somehow immune to such vile influences for some reason.  I guess that was foolish of me, really.  With gaming becoming more and more popular every year it would only make sense that the massive throngs of new players would take chunks of pop culture with them.  It won’t be long now before the socially inept gamer stereotype will have to take refuge in a new unpopular hobby.

I kid.

In the end I know it really won’t matter (we’re back to the DLC here) that Lady Ga Ga pops up in Rock Band.  I already know the platform is prone to spewing out nonsense such as Spongebob Squarepands and Just Kait, but I forgive it because it also graces us with the Pixies, the Fratellis, the Dropkick Murphys, and countless dozens of bands I can be happy about.

I’ll probably grab the South Park track simply because it’s South Park and Cartman makes me laugh.

– – – – –

This little exchange did a pretty good job at summing up my views on the issue:

Callum x360a:  I know people have complained in the past that some music can’t be considered ‘Rock’, but let’s face it, can Gaga reeeeeaaallly be considered ‘Rock’?

TwistedFate: Can Still Alive? Spongebob? Naked Brothers? Simon and Garfunkel? Freezepop? Abnormality? Toby Keith? I thought we had gotten past the actual “rock” part of the name. “Band” is not a very good name for a game, especially since some of what we have gotten aren’t “bands” so what should they call it: “Music Game”? Country, Electronic and folk have made it onto the platform, why not Gaga?

It’s not killing RB’s soul. You don’t have to buy it. Your RB will be just fine. It survived Naked Brothers and Spongebob, it can survive Gaga.

– – – – –

On an only vaguely related issue, where the hell is my DLC from the Spoon album Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, Harmonix?

Leave a Reply

